Da Da Dam

It was again a fantastic weekend: forest, friends and the Eurovision song contest. In the forest where I spent my weekend, the internet was far far away.

The young, wonderful and positive Paradise Oskar sang his beautiful song Da Da Dam in the contest. As so many times before, we were left without support, except maybe from our Nordic and Baltic friends. This time, however, I wish someone would have voted. Not because this time was special in the sense that I was not ashamed of the Finnish song, but because the song carried a message of hope. To a passionista like me this message well chosen, as change begins with ourselves. The song could almost be titled with my favourite quote: be the change you want to see.

Peter is young,
he tries to talk
but no one listens to him.
Everybody’s busy living and dying,
not thinking about what they’re doing.

But look at the boy who
went out in the world
to save our planet.
And he ain’t coming back
until she’s saved.
He walked his way to see
the King and parliament.
But they all turned their heads
and walked away
singin’
Da da dam, da da dam

How does a young guy choose a setting so perfect for his performance? No wind machines, no female dancers with skimpy dresses – only a guy on stage with blue lights and the globe rising to make a point (see 0.54 onwards from the video).

In the present political context in Finland, the message really is welcome. As I am a positive thinker, I believe people will pick up the message. What happens next? Da Da Dam or something else? It’s really up to you.

What will I do? I will put on Hedvig, look fantastic and feel even better. The fabric is 100% recycled polyester.

♣ In the meantime: If you don’t know how to fold a paper bag for your bio-waste check video here.

♦ Song of the day: Watch my dance, Loucas Yiorkas feat. Stereo Mike – the passionista in me demands for this choice, despite Stereo Mike

Leave a Reply

