Summer nights vol. II

The weekend in Eastern Finland, in South Karelia, was a great success. Lots of sun and fun. Maybe now I can explain the magical nights of June that I was talking about earlier.

Both photos have been taken in the middle of the night, maybe around 1am, and the sky is still bright. It’s all quiet.

In the latter picture you can see the reflection of the moon on the lake surface. The air was completely still. It’s the magic of the early, Northern summer nights, right here.

Beautiful summer nights are full of light

I’m glad I learned only later that bears often come and visit the house we were staying in. Latest sighting was from Friday. We arrived on Friday. Did not see any bears though. Had I known about the bears, I would have considered walking around more carefully, especially in the early hours of the morning.

This was waiting for us on Saturday morning. In Finnish terms, having natural waters at +20 in mid-June is pretty remarkable. Swimming was bliss.

We hopped on a small boat and floated to the middle of the lake.

Just to look at the scene and enjoy the warmth.

I’ve recently spent some time away from Finland. This weekend in magical South Karelia reminded me of the beauty of our country. Our nature is clean, and there’s lots of it. I don’t think everyone should be able to have their own house by a lake, but I do think visiting a calming forest/lake area does good for everyone.

Monday morning embraced me with a reality check, as always. The morning cold air wakes you up when cycling against the wind in +11. In the afternoon the brisk +11 has turned into freezing rain, and again, cycling against the wind, wearing every single piece of clothing I had with me. Pheeew. Bye bye +30 and sunshine.

See, this is why we always talk about the weather!

And, the Yalo ladies have landed a new brand to their collection. Check out Stewart+Brown! For a better look of the brand, see here.

[edit later the same day: And it was zero kilometers with petrol, all done with natural gas!]

♦ In the meantime: Rumour has it we might have a government programme this Friday

♥ Song of the day: Björk, It’s oh so quiet

Leave a Reply

