Talking to me?

I wanted to write about a short story by Richard Ford. But I’ve misplaced the book somewhere. Can’t write about it, as I’ve forgotten the name of the story. Will save it for later.

Instead I’ll talk about José Saramago and one of his novels, The Double. Not so much of the story itself, but the fascinating discussions the protagonist, professor Tertuliano Máximo Afonso has with his own conscience. How often do you get to do that? Mr. Afonso has a lot to talk about, as he finds out he has a double, someone identical to him, a guy named Antonio Claro.

Now who wouldn’t become obsessed about that? I would.

I’ve not read any other novels by Saramago, only this one. The text is full of long, almost endless sentences, no full stops or commas, free flowing thoughts one after another, page after page. Exactly what you would expect from a story built around a person having discussions with his own mind.

The story is interesting, and those five-paragraph discussions are hilarious at best. But what is more interesting, is the way the whole book is so unconventional – if one considers e.g. adding question marks and commas to sentences conventional. You know, making it easy for the reader to understand and follow. Erm, nope, not conventional.

So why not do things in unexpected ways every now and then? There’s no need to write a book though. Just break the routine a bit? Try it.

I mean, I got myself an orange shirt and a pair of red Mono Concept jeans. That’s pretty cool, and very unusual for me.

♠ In the meantime: Whoaa, a female Prime Minister to Thailand?

♥ Song of the day: Interpol, Public Pervert

2 thoughts on “Talking to me?

  1. Hi Yalotar, I read Blindness a few years ago by Saramago, it was an incredible book, I still remember being amazed by it all these years later. Distressing in parts and overall a very powerful moving book. Then I tried another by him, All The Names, which was beautifully written but much lighter. I would definitely put Blindness on a list of books to read before you die.

    • Hi Ilya Fisher! I’ve heard my friends say the same, but for some reason I’ve not yet read the book. Was it written in the same, free flowing way? Must read!

Leave a Reply

