Hiding the characters is a no-no

I finished reading Great House by Nicole Krauss. I enjoyed the novel, the way different destinies get tangled together, how small things grow large in our heads and we do unexpected deeds. What I did learn, or get reminded of, is to be aware of the decisions you make. If I want to live my life, and nobody else’s, I need to make my own decisions and set my own limits. Not all characters in the book do it, I think.

What I did not like so much is the fact that one needs to search for clues on who’s talking.

At the same time with finishing the book, I read an article from a very good Finnish magazine, Olivia. There a Finnish author Anna-Leena Härkönen was followed for a few years when writing a novel. The article was perhaps six pages long, a few spreads with photographs (beautiful, by the way). Oh the different phases of writing! First there is crying and despair, then there’s happiness and ease, then dark thoughts and finally a book comes out. Fascinating!

Anna-Leena Härkönen says, in the article, how she hates to search for clues on who’s talking. I was nodding fiercely when reading.

If ever I end up writing fiction, more than this blog of course, there will be no need to search for clues on the characters. After finishing Great House I started the long-awaited Wolf Hall, and the first thing I see is a list of characters, listed under different chapters of the book. Thank you Hilary Mantel, greatly appreciated! I was terrified earlier as I was thinking the historic setting of the book and the long list of characters and names I would need to remember.

And, after a few months of active writing this blog, I notice that I’m not really writing about recycling at all, despite my earlier plans. More about reading, writing, books, ecofashion and society, even events, but not recycling. So, I will probably delete the category and list the writings under a tag ‘recycling’.

♠ In the meantime: I wish I could’ve listened to the great Allen Toussaint in Helsinki this weekend. But, I chose otherwise as I needed to smell the almost autumn-like forest. No more Southern nights! (if you prefer the boogie version, check Glenn Campbell)

♥ Song of the day: Tori Amos, Marianne

One thought on “Hiding the characters is a no-no

  1. “What I did not like so much is the fact that one needs to search for clues on who’s talking.”

    I hate when an author does that. It distracts me from what I’m reading.

    Good post.

Leave a Reply

