Night of Hunters

Listening to a new album by one of your favourite artists is always a thrill. What are the melodies like this time? How about lyrics? Will there be a song or two that stand out immediately or will the album become one of those you end up listening again and again without ever learning the titles of individual songs?

The first thing that gets my attention with the new Tori Amos album Night of Hunters is the line I will follow you Annabelle from one of the songs, Snowblind. The line reminds me of something but I can’t really pinpoint what it is.

Maybe of West Wing because there was a character with a similar name? Maybe of an earlier Tori Amos song Winter?

The other thing that got my attention are the children singing on the album. Did not see that coming.

And, there is a Wikipedia site for the new album. Already?

Night of Hunters is a concept album that has been described by Amos as “a 21st century song cycle inspired by classical music themes spanning over 400 years.” She uses the musical tradition of variations on a theme to pay tribute to such renowned composers as Bach, Chopin,Debussy, Granados, Satie and Schubert, while taking inspiration from their original compositions to create a new, independent work. Regarding the album’s concept, she has described it as the exploration of “the hunter and the hunted and how both exist within us” through the story of “a woman who finds herself in the dying embers of a relationship.”

I have always loved the way she masters the piano. But I’ve never had the need to see behind her songs and melodies and understand them. I just enjoy them.

After listening the album through a couple of times, I don’t yet see the exploration of the hunter and the hunted in that story of a woman who finds herself in the dying embers of a relationship. But here’s the good thing – I don’t have to.

Her tour starts from Finland, right here in Helsinki next Wednesday. I’ll be there. It’s the third time I’ll see her, and first time in Helsinki. Really looking forward to it.

There is one song that sticks out from the new album. There almost always is. For me, this time, it’s Edge of the Moon.

And the Yalo ladies are again making me want to dance. Look at this dress by Camilla Norrback. I’m in love. And it’s black!

♣ In the meantime: Some politicians in Finland are really drowning in their rhetoric. Such ignorant fools. When did it become a norm that those condemning openly racist talk need to apologize for limiting someone’s freedom of speech?

♦ Song of the day: Tori Amos, Seven sisters (and again, it brings Piano to my mind!)

Leave a Reply

