Why biographies hurt my brain

I’ve been slowly reading Wolf Hall. I’m sure it is an interesting novel, rewarding, and in many ways enlightening, but damn it’s boring. People die of plague, webs of lies develop, the King is blinded by love and/or lust and Thomas Cromwell is right there in the middle of it. What else is new? Historical novel (of this magnitude) obviously is not my thing. Too slow.

I should have listened to my brother who long ago told me that my patience is not enough for [ _______ ] –> enter suitable word here, pretty much anything will do.

So instead of learning British history, I will learn to do a Photoshop makeover to my own photos. It’s raining outside, my dog is behaving strangely, I’m tired and lazy. So, Photoshop tutorials it is.

Maybe I’ll continue reading Nina Simone’s biography by David Brun-Lambert. In general, I hate biographies. I’ve tried reading several, of people I admire and would really like to read about, such as Nelson Mandela. But the way these books are written just gets to me.

Surely you can write about a person without a golden halo pointing out each and every achievement, no matter how small. The thing that’s driving me insane with the Nina Simone biography is the Da Vinci Code type of writing, like finishing paragraphs with an utterly imbecile questions like: Did Eunice question those rules, whose consequences she would soon come to understand? And I’m only on page 19.

The sentence refers to racial segregation this piano-master-prodigy faced, just like so many others at the time, early 1940’s. I don’t mean that a 10-year old child could not understand the issue of racial segregation, not at all, it’s just the way the author is posing the question. Very Da Vinci Code.

I do have other books on my reading list. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, Mr. Darcy’s Daughters by Elizabeth Aston and Game Control by Lionel Shriver.

All three are great in their own ways. Neil Gaiman, his books are just so witty and sharp and funny. Elizabeth Aston, well, anyone who comes up with an idea of writing about Mr. Darcy gets my respect. Lionel Shriver, perhaps most known for writing about Kevin and the fictional school massacre, this time writes about good intentions in modern-day Africa. Envious for all three for their talent.

Oh, and Wolf Hall of course is a fictionalized biography of Thomas Cromwell. Not the Da Vinci Code type, but a biography. There’s always something with them. Now, off to work with Photoshop.

♦ In the meantime: So the leader of ‘the Finns’ is ready to compete for the presidency of Finland. What news is this, really, anyone?

♣ Song of the day: Florence + the Machine, Shake it Out. This melody somehow reminds me of the fantastic movie Working Girl and Carly Simon’s Let the River Run. Never quite understood the lyrics, but talking about the melody here.

Leave a Reply

