Childhood traumas out in the open

Childhood traumas are peculiar. You could easily forget them, never tell anyone and pretend to be oblivious when life throws them in your way later in life.

However, I’m choosing to share mine, as life has recently thrown rather clear hints my way.

You may remember my eagerness to read Wolf Hall. You may also remember my lame efforts to try to finish the book. It seems too slow for my taste even though I fully appreciate the nice writing and extraordinary research that must have gone into writing the book.

Many exciting phases of history only begin when the story of Wolf Hall finishes, but I’m too impatient to wait and see how we get there. Martin Luther is only beginning to annoy Thomas More as enlightenment knocks on society’s door.

Despite my dislike for biographies, I also chose to start reading Nina Simone’s biography. If Thomas Cromwell was a reformist in his time, Nina Simone surely took a reformist role in the American civil rights movement with Martin Luther King and many others.

And what brings us to my childhood trauma here are two characters with similar names but different roles in the history of commendable achievements.

To a child it might seem rather insignificant, to call someone Martin Luther or Martin Luther King. At least for me it did. My teacher did not agree and gave me zero points on that test.

Reading the books brought back the trauma. I still remember how stupid I felt when reading my teacher’s comments on the test paper. After twenty years it doesn’t feel quite so bad anymore, especially when reading about some of the complete bozo parliamentarians we have in Finland. They’re adults, I was just a kid.

♥ In the meantime: Wise words on cycling. And how smartly visualized! I should remember this more often (nowadays going to work by bus).

♣ Song of the day: The National, Racing Like a Pro

Leave a Reply

