One last time. To see what happens.

Out of tiredness and slightly bored, I started reading a Marian Keys novel, Rachel’s holiday. I’ve tried one of her short story collections earlier, but that did not work out at all. So far I’m on page 29 in Rachel’s holiday and I’m not closing the book yet. The character is not the usual shopaholic or downshifter, but a drug addict of some sort. Let’s see how this develops.

Every now and then I try but it does not work. Can’t explain it really, but chick lit seems not to be my cup of tea. Maybe this time with Rachel’s holiday it works out well for me, too?

As I do have a passion for crochet, I dared try the Friday Night Knitting Club earlier this year when lying on a beach in Thailand. I finished the book, found it engaging and funny, but still, the plot was just a teensy weensy bit annoying. Why does it have to be straight from a soap opera? Very predictable and slightly implausible.

What disturbed me most of all, is the use of these soap opera type of sentences, which I have started calling the da vinci code sentences. It seems they are widely used in biographies, too.

Just take a look at some examples.

But Georgia would never turn away a potential sale.

She’d never turn away anyone at all.

from Friday Night Knitting Club

Why would you add that second sentence? Especially as a ‘paragraph’ of its own?

One last time. To see what happens. Or because it was too cold where she was. Because she felt too alone. More alone than among the living.

from Nina Simone, the Biography

Dear me. Perhaps this one is weird just because of the original text was French, and maybe in French it’s ok to breathe slowly in sentences, too?

I wish I had the Da Vinci Code in English, because that one sure has some delicious examples in it.

But seriously. Is it so that these sentences add suspense and sense of drama? Somehow bring the text closer to reality? Show how torn the characters are, how devoted they are or something else?

Or is it just the reader? Is it me?

May I just share one of my all-time favourite quotes from a book that I think too many people have left to the book shelf because of their prejudices.

And now, Harry, let us step out into the night and pursue that flighty temptress, adventure.

from Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Is it just me, or is this sentence a thousand times more engaging, thrilling and touching than the two examples above? To pursue that flighty temptress, adventure. Mmm, I like it.

So, for me. One last time. To see what happens. I will tackle chick lit. All alone. More alone than among the living.

♥ In the meantime: If you’re still trying to figure out how to motivate people to go your way – or just in general, check out the animated explanation from the video. Extra points for the visual explanation. Surely you could’ve written a memo, too. Btw, the video explains tags: management and inspiration. 

♣ Song of the day: Manfred Mann, I Put a Spell on You

3 thoughts on “One last time. To see what happens.

  1. I’ve tried Marian Keys a number of times and failed to finish a single one of her books (same goes for Sophie Kinsella), but have successfully read some others and even enjoyed them (like some by Lauren Weisberger). I think this genre is one where the audience is generally less discerning and as a result there is a lot of not-so-engaging books out there. The knitting books I probably finished only because I was interested to know Dakota’s baking business turns out, and I remember not being able to put down a Harry Potter book…

  2. I always thought that the ending of the Great Gatsby is an example of the English language as its best.

    “And as I sat there brooding on the old, unknown world, I thought of Gatsby’s wonder when he first picked out the green light at the end of Daisy’s dock. He had come a long way to this blue lawn, and his dream must have seemed so close that he could hardly fail to grasp it. He did not know that it was already behind him, somewhere back in that vast obscurity beyond the city, where the dark fields of the republic rolled on under the night.
    Gatsby believed in the green light, the orgastic future that year by year recedes before us. It eluded us then, but that’s no matter — to-morrow we will run faster, stretch out our arms farther. . . . And one fine morning ——
    So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”

  3. Who could not love the Gatsby? I’m sure you are not the only one who quotes the book every now and then. There’s plenty to quote! Beautiful language Terhi. Thanks!

    kmmakinen: Thanks for the tip regarding Weisberger, must try that next then. But here’s the thing. I would like to spend time reading easy, fun, even predictable stories every now and then, without caring one bit about the way the story is written. Just for the fun of it. I’m a bit envious for my friends who have thoroughly enjoyed many entertaining books, and I don’t seem to be able to do that with my evil eye for the bad sentences. But then again, maybe I’ll stick to the Harry Potters, they’re true page turners!

Leave a Reply

