Soundtrack of social change

I got myself a new book. It is the first non-fiction book I have bought in a good while.

This baby has about 800 pages, just like a good Harry Potter novel. Author Dorian Lynskey, a music writer for the Guardian, has done impressive and interesting research about the politics of pop music, and BTW also hosts a blog called 33 revolutions per minute.

I’m going to dig in and see what the fuss was all about back in the day when society was different from what we’re seeing & experiencing today.

The book is described this way in the back cover:

When pop music meets politics, the results are often thrilling, sometimes life-changing and never simple. 33 Revolutions Per Minute tracks this turbulent relationship through 33 pivotal songs that span seven decades and four continents, from Billie Holiday crooning ‘Strange Fruit’ to Green Day raging against the Iraq war.

The title of this post is not mine, it’s borrowed from the book – and so true. I’m hoping for a page-turner and eye-opener. The book is divided to five parts/time periods and deals with individual songs. Each chapter is titled by a song.

The one I’m really looking forward to is Frankie Goes to Hollywood: Two Tribes from Part Four (1977-1987). If you check out the video, you’ll get the drift.

♠ In the meantime: I love art. When I encounter projects such as this one, I want to shout out of joy. People are so smart, witty and funny. Evil Star Wars Stormtrooper was just doing it for the money, and what he really wants to do is dance away with the family!

♥ Song of the day: Sinitta, Toy Boy. I’m seeing the video of my childhood favourite song for the first time now, and I’m pretty happy about how young and innocent I was when listening to the song.

Leave a Reply

