Slaughtering fast fashion

I’ve been thinking about the concept of slow fashion lately.

Slow food is cooked without haste, enjoying the effort, preferably shared with friends and loved ones. It seems quite straightforward. Sadly I often don’t have the chance to do this, dinner needs to be ready as family is hungry!

Slow living, yeah, I can understand that, too. Not creating a haste, not pretending to be important because of being busy, enjoying every moment, refusing to live by crazy timetables, giving and getting precious moments from people around you, living with a relaxed attitude. I love slow living. I hate timetables and plans in my personal life, love the impulsive fun that can be created from scratch with a moment’s notice.

Slow loving, well, I guess then you just avoid rushing into things. I’m not too good in that either.

But slow fashion. Hmm. I like the sound of it.

I’m definitely a slow fashion lover, as I do crochet and it is by definition quite slow. Making a pullover, dress or a skirt does take time and patience. Maybe the pattern even runs out of fashion while you’re making it.

This is where we get to the concept of slow fashion. It is of course the opposite of fast fashion, the kind of fashion that is just spat out from the textile industry, new clothes for every season, with new fabrics, cuts and gimmicks – and lacking all ethical and ecological aspects. Maybe some greenwashing labels to feel good with.

Maybe slow fashion equals good quality clothing? You refuse to buy fast fashion, choose ecological and ethical brands to your closet, invest in good quality, pay the price for fair employment terms, safe working surroundings and having to destroy the nature less. The ecological burden can never go away as long as things are being produced and bought, but you can make it smaller on your part.

I’ve often wondered how people would feel if they had to face the facts every day about fast fashion. Would it make a difference if they knew other people lived and worked in risky conditions, without proper pay, health care and normal workers’ rights? If not, would people start to care if they heard the hopes and dreams of people who are making all the sacrifices?

Even if the Finnish film Canned Dreams by director Katja Gauriloff (link in FIN) describes the food industry and crazy production chains of canned food, I can see some similarities here. It’s a “film about workers and their dreams on the journey of a canned food product”. I want to see it and you should, too. Next, someone could make a film about the textile industry!

[edit later same day: I did not realize there’s a Wikipedia site on fast fashion. Did not expect that, but there it is!]

♠ In the meantime: I recycled my socks to the dog toy industry today. I hid goodies to my (unwashed!) socks and gave them to my German Shepherd. She loves it. Tearing the socks apart, trying to get the goodies out.

♦ Song of the day: Whitney Houston, I’m your baby tonight (must be the original version, no mixes will do)

2 thoughts on “Slaughtering fast fashion

  1. You are so right about how many people don’t know where their clothing comes from. Some think it’s all made by machines, others don’t care where it comes from as long as it’s cheap, and still more never even read the label to see the county of origin.

    I love that you are thinking about Slow Fashion. It is exciting to see others not only think about the global impact of the clothing industry, but to take up a passionate hobby like crocheting that involves you in the process of making your own clothing and accessories!

    BTW, There is also a small Wikipedia section about Slow Fashion or check out http://www.SlowFashioned.com for official slow fashion news and resources.

  2. Thanks for the comment! Really, a Wikipedia section on slow fashion, too? Probably did not even look for it, as I didn’t think it existed. Lazy thinking 🙂 And thanks for linking to your website, will check it out!

Leave a Reply

