Shakespeare and young Goethe in love

You remember Shakespeare in love? From 1998? I still consider it one of the best films for anyone interested in literature and drama. At the time I was a young student, my head swirling with classics and of course some more modern Anglo-American, African and Caribbean literature.

I was deeply impressed with the storytelling of the movie. How did they come up with the idea of combining two Shakespeare stories and baking them both into an inspiring movie? I’m still envious to whomever came up with that. Fascinating, if not all true. Beautifully told.

It is wonderful to see films being made not only about muscular men, fast cars, violence and killing. Proper drama, based on real-life characters, seems to interest me. I don’t have the patience to read biographies, but movies based on real people appeal to me. Haven’t yet seen the film on Margaret Thatcher, but I’m looking forward to it a lot.

Today I was lucky to choose Young Goethe in love from Voddler. Haven’t read The Sorrows of Young Wether, but having seen Lotte and Johann on film, I might just do it. The story is set in 1772 Germany, where young Goethe tries to study law but fails miserably in the face of love and fiction.

Shakespeare in love, young Goethe in love, Yalotar in love. Sturm und Drang!

♥ In the meantime: This is way too exciting, exploring ghost tunnels. Urban exploring and writing a PhD on it. Almost like in Neverwhere, one of my favorite books of all time.

♥ Song of the day: Moby, One of these mornings

Leave a Reply

