Lost in childhood

Last night I was walking home from dinner in downtown Bucharest. I almost bumped into a young boy on the pedestrian crossing. He was maybe six years old, walking alone. He kept his eyes on mine (or I on his), he was clearly trying to tell me something with a quiet, moaning voice, and he was crying. He looked like any other six-year old, except that he was alone.

I can’t get the image off my head, and I’m still imagining what was going on in his mind. Was he alone? Was he hungry? Lost? Hurt? I will never know. I hope he finds what he was missing.

As I’ve mentioned many times before, life in Finland is somehow very protected. It’s easy to forget what the realities are or can be elsewhere. Most of our problems are simple first world problems: lost USB-keys, wrong colored clothes, the kind of food that I’d rather not eat today etc. The list of madness is endless.

Seeing the kid, I was (again) struck by the fact that whomever has more, needs to give more. And I don’t mean money. I mean thoughts, and more importantly actions. Hence, I’m again asking myself: am I doing the right choices in life? Do I do enough?

Having spent two days with student politicians seems to make me go all philosophical, dreamy and mushy. I don’t know how many times I’ve already posted this same message, same questions and same thoughts – they just seem to take a different form from one blog post to another.

So, if you never stop to think about the choices you make, now is the time! It’s not naive, not childish, it’s you raging against the machine – whatever the machine for you may be.

♠ In the meantime: The new chairperson for ESU is Karina Ufert from Lithuania. Congratulations and bon courage!

♥ Song of the day: The Guillemots, If the World Ends

Leave a Reply

