Origami headband from recycled leather

I saw a beautiful headband the other day, with a large origami fabric flower. The design is simple and elegant, by Tyra Therman. I decided to try it myself, as I’ve had an old leather skirt in the closet for a while, just waiting for a DIY-project.

Here’s the final product. It looks maybe a bit bigger than it actually is.

And here’s how I did it.

I made a cardboard petal and drew the outlines for four petals. It did take me a while to figure out the best petal shape, and this is what I ended up with. The blunt bottom corners made it easier to glue the thing together.

Then I took out the superglue and started shaping the petals. Squeeze both blunt corners of each petal together so that you have eight glued corners all together. After this, glue the two bottom corners of each petal together to form the final petal.

Then it was time to cut the bottom piece of leather, where all petals will be attached to. The white shape shows the final size, and blue outlines show how large you actually have to make it. In this way, you get an extra layer of leather to make the headband a bit more steady.

Here we have the bottom piece of leather, with folded corners and the four petals. I guess it’s a matter of taste whether you want to leave the folds upwards or hide them underneath. I chose the latter.

Then, all that’s left is glueing the pieces together. I actually glued the petals into a small square piece of leather first (not visible here), and then glued the entire thing to the bottom piece so that it looks like this.

What I also did in the end was add an extra layer of petals under the actual petals. They were easy to glue to the bottom piece. This way, the flower looked somehow fuller.

I also added tiny petals to the middle as a final touch, as I had no buttons readily available.

And finally, I glued the whole thing to a thin headband from the corners of the bottom piece. This way the flower is well supported and steady, plus it follows the shape of your head very nicely.

And there we go! Ready!

Sorry for the excessive use of word ‘bottom’ here! No puns intended. Just could not think of a better word to describe that, erm, bottom piece of leather. Also, sorry for the bad quality photos, my camera is broken and I’m forced to rely on the iPad “camera”.

♣ In the meantime: Summer holiday almost over. Dislike. Dislike. Dislike.

♠ Song of the day: The Rasmus, Shot

Leave a Reply

