Countdown is over, today is the day

Now it’s official. The countdown is over.

We have got our daylight back. So far I’ve only seen it in the afternoons, but this morning at 8 a.m. I did not need to put the lights on. It’s not mid-February yet, but we’re not too picky. Today’s the day. We have 8 hours and 6 minutes of daylight, and it’s increasing fast.

I started the countdown sometime in September, when it was about 22 weeks till mid-February. For me, there are always two days in a year, when I realize the season is changing: one with less daylight and one with more.

To celebrate this special day (and my birthday sometime ago), my darling friends took me out for a brunch and photo exhibition. First some Prosecco and fantastic food at Sunn, a restaurant situated right opposite to Helsinki Cathedral, one of the most famous sights in Helsinki, and afterwards captivating photographs by Nelli Palomäki at the Finnish Museum of Photography.

To top it all off, I got to enjoy my mum’s cooking later in the day.

For me, this day marks the beginning of spring.

♣ In the meantime: It is very disturbing to see violent, political attacks in this country. What is even more disturbing is the vice-chair of the Finns Juho Eerola implying that the stabbing in Jyväskylä was just a marketing trick (link in FIN) for the book that was being presented in the event.

♥ Song of the day: Depeche Mode, Heaven

3 thoughts on “Countdown is over, today is the day

  1. Pingback: Experience the five seasons in Haltia, part I | Yalotar

  2. Pingback: The season is changing | Yalotar

  3. Pingback: Autumn countdown officially beginning | Yalotar

Leave a Reply

