World Environment Day blogging competition

I made it to the top 10 in the blog competition organised by UNEP and TreeHugger. Exciting times! The first round of blogging was pretty clear-cut: we all got to write about food waste from whatever angle we chose. I wrote about Leftover love and enjoyed every minute of writing the post.

After writing Leftover love, I bumped into something interesting in Twitter, namely the concept of foodstinct. What a great term! We’re actually talking about a blogger and a Tweep, who kindly introduced me to a waste food challenge and provided quite a few practical tips on how to use old or soon-to-be-old food.

Since then I’ve made e.g. an amazing casserole with a funky combo of boiled pasta, a few boiled potatoes, salmon leftovers, green curry paste, parmesan and pecorino cheese (those small chunks that you easily forget to the back of the fridge) and remains of a garlic dip sauce. Was delicious and very innovative!

Anyway.

On the blogging contest. The top 10 were invited to write second blog posts on certain topics. The deadline for handing in the articles was today 27 March. The new blog posts, our photographs and short profiles of each blogger will be published on 1 April on the UNEP World Environment Day website, where an online voting will also take place until 14 April to determine the winner of the competition.

Will you consider reading my post and voting for me, if you think the text is worthy? I’ll of course update the link here, once I have it.

[edit 1 April 11.37am: The online voting is now open. Please go to my new blog post, read it and vote. Voting is very easy. Thank you!]

Sorry for not sharing any more details here on the topics we were given or the contents of my post, but on the coming Monday UNEP will publish all ten posts and probably some details on the task given to us. I’d also be interested to hear how many bloggers took part in the challenge and of course reading the other top 10 blog posts.

And, to top it all off, I’m enjoying an Easter break for a couple of days. Sleeping late! Walks! Cooking! Family time! Friends! Writing! Reading! Music!

Ah. Life is good.

♠ In the meantime: Some ten days ago people in Southern Finland were able to witness a rare sight: Aurora Borealis, Northern lights. A very rare guest in the South. Check out the link, the photos are amazing.

♦ Song of the day: Hoobastank, The Reason

2 thoughts on “World Environment Day blogging competition

  1. I think this is the first time I have been mentioned in a Finnish blog. Thank you! I’m so pleased. 🙂

    It sounds like you are very in touch with your foodstinct, Yalotar. I can’t wait to see the rest of your posts on the world environment day project. Winning a trip to Mongolia would be interesting – from many perspectives including the food.

    All the best,
    Jared.

  2. Well, there’s a first time for everything 🙂 You’re most welcome, your blog really inspired me to search for more innovative ideas. Thanks for the encouraging words, let’s see what happens in the contest. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

