Spring has arrived to Finland

130421spring2These little darlings had started to blossom literally overnight in my neighbourhood. When I took the German Shepherd out for a walk this morning, I was blown away. Every garden was blossoming.

There is hope after all. You wait, and you wait, and then suddenly spring truly arrives in 24 hours. We’ve seen signs in the air, we’ve heard it in the way the birds sing, and we’ve smelled the fresh ground starting to wake up after the winter.

But of course we still have snow. This weekend has been nice and sunny, and what better way to spend it than shoveling snow.

130421spring3It seems the key is to break the remaining snow banks, spread the snow everywhere and then watch it melt in one big whoosh. I hope today was the last day I had to shovel snow. Maybe you’ve heard of Santa’s little helpers, but have you ever heard of Spring’s little helpers? Well, we all live in Finland and our main task is to shovel snow.

Can you believe those tiny Crocuses are growing even under the snow? Pushing upwards through some 10 cm of snow. Impressive attitude!

Since I write about my home forest and nature so often, I think I’m going to add a new category “nature” to make it easier for you to read those ramblings.

♥ In the meantime: A spectacular new place is about to be opened in Espoo, portraying the beauty of Finnish nature. Haltia – The Finnish Nature Center celebrates its grand opening in May 2013. I will definitely blog about this more in the future, but based on what I’ve seen so far, it’s a-ma-zing.

♣ Song of the day: Future Islands, Give Us the Wind

Leave a Reply

