How I added layers to the Eurovision song contest

IMG_0622

What an excellent weekend. The Eurovision song contest was perhaps the best I’ve seen in a couple of years. Not because the songs and performances were somehow exceptionally good, but because I was watching it together with many others – online.

I was comfortably at home after a long day of gardening, with some Fair Trade bubbly and my new crochet projects, as you see from the photo. It was great to see how social media brings a whole new level to the experience. Dozens of tweets and FB updates, good discussions and laughs from all over Europe.

Btw, the more I read Virkkuri, the more I want to crochet. I hear Molla Mills is making a new book, let’s see when it comes out.

The month of May is always a busy time. Everyone suddenly wakes up to the spring, and there are so many events taking place that it’s almost hard to choose. Last Saturday was Restaurant Day, and dozens if not hundreds of little pop-up restaurants mushroomed here and there. Next Saturday is Cleaning Day, a massive flea-market taking place, well, everywhere. I thoroughly enjoyed Cleaning Day last year, but this year I won’t be able to join the fun. Other interesting, international, workshop-like things will happening the coming weekend, and I will be sure to blog about them later. Just wait! But for sure, social media already has and will add layers to all events.

And as if all of this wasn’t enough, I was invited to Haltia – the Finnish Nature Centre for a pre-tour for bloggers. The centre opens 31 May, and we’ll get a guided tour on 28 May. I can’t wait to see how the centre looks like, what it has to offer and how cool it actually is. I’ve driven past the construction site last year when visiting Nuuksio National Park in Espoo, but now it’s finally ready. Exciting to see the place and blog about it!

On a final note, yesterday was just like a hot summer day. It was wonderful. I met with some friends, we enjoyed a barbecue picnic, a few glasses of bubbly and of course, the sun. On days like these, it is almost hard to remember how dark and cold the Finnish winter is. How do we survive the winter ordeal every year?

♣ In the meantime: I’m off to the seaside for two days for some work-related brainstorming. I’m hoping to wake up early enough to get some nice morning photographs. Also, I managed to include a crochet workshop for my colleagues in the programme. We’ll be making small baskets.

♥ Song of the day: Birgit Õigemeel, Et Uus Saaks Alguse (Estonia, my favourite in the Eurovision song contest 2013)

3 thoughts on “How I added layers to the Eurovision song contest

    • Hey, and welcome to my blog! Sorry for the late reply! Indeed yes, this was an excellent contest. I also liked Ukraine, even though it was very Lion King, but anyway 🙂 Btw I think there was a Finnish person involved in the making of the Belgian song. How surprising!

Leave a Reply

