A weekend of digging gold with Quality Hunters

I’m painfully aware that I very often start my blog posts with Pheew  or What a weekend, but really, last weekend deserves ALL of these expressions compressed into one.

So what happened? To my surprise some two weeks ago, I was invited to join the Quality Hunters workshop, with a simple task of digging gold i.e. finding innovative ideas for better air travel, especially related to Finnair and Helsinki Airport. In case you’ve no idea what I’m talking about, check the Quality Hunters website or my earlier blog post

The workshop brought together creative people from all over the world. We worked for two intensive days, but the clue for all the hard work was: relax, pretend you’re not working at all. If you want a quick recap of both workshop days, check the organisers’ blog posts on Day 1 and Day 2. In Twitter, the hashtag #QHworkshop will also give you a quick look into what happened.

I just want to say a big thank you for the invitation and to everyone involved. I don’t think I’ve ever had as good a time in a workshop, especially with people I don’t really know (at all). The weekend showed me, again, that I’m most comfortable with international teams, lots of talking and laughing and just coming up with ideas & developing them further.

Right before the workshop I was talking to my friends on Facebook about approaching the theme “At Home” from an ecological, ethical and more sustainable angle. We gathered many good ideas for an improved travel experience, without compromising any of the fun of course, and most of the ideas are actually more suitable for discussions in upcoming workshops: At the airport, On board or On arrival. Some ideas could be built into the new Finnair travel app (see prototype below, yes, that’s the one), e.g. easily compensating your co2 emissions while checking in or booking your flight.

WP_0002341

Even though it was pretty much fun and games all weekend, it doesn’t mean we were not productive. We started from listing our hopes and dreams, fears and worries, sources of inspiration and information for traveling, worked our way through customer segments, various timelines and matrices, and transformed these into concrete project ideas that we actually built to physical form. Imagine that. And the best part is, this is only the beginning!

♥ In the meantime: I missed out this year’s Cleaning Day, but I hear it was a great success with over 2800 sales tables at 87 different towns. There are plenty of photos of the event on their FB site.

♠ Song of the day: Daft Punk, Get Lucky

Leave a Reply

