Crochet pouch for iPad mini

20130614-094654.jpgYou may have seen the progress photos of this pouch in some of my earlier posts. Well, the pouch is ready now and I can soon give it to my colleague, who’s the owner of a new mini.

What we have here is leftover cotton yarn in two colours, hook no. 3 and 72 stitches. Each stripe consists of six stitches, and there are twelve stripes altogether. The pouch is crocheted in spiral form, and this size allows just enough space for a Smart cover.

Really sorry – again – for the crap pictures. As was rightly noted in Twitter, the iPad camera isn’t exactly up to date in photo quality.

Apologies baby kittens of the world, I mean you no harm!

IMG_0658It was relatively slow to crochet, don’t know why – perhaps it’s the change of colour every few stitches and having to crochet the other yarn into stitches all the time. Or maybe my hands were just sweaty.

Did I mention earlier that the inspiration for this pouch is from the fantastic Virkkuri book? I showed the book to my mum during the Midsummer weekend and she was impressed. Can crochet be done this way, too? Yes!

130625ipad_pouch

Here it is in its final size. The hight is about 49 rows, if I counted right, about 21 cm. Now I still need to decide how to close it. A button might be simple? Or perhaps a snap button?

♣ In the meantime: I’m something like 24 hours away from summer holidays and I can’t wait. Last days at the office before summer holiday seem tricky every year.

♦ Song of the day: Daft Punk, Doin’ it right

4 thoughts on “Crochet pouch for iPad mini

    • Hey and welcome to my blog! Thanks and I agree – Molla Mills who did the book Virkkuri has a great eye for more graphic designs and colors. I’m not a big fan of flowers etc. so her designs suit me perfectly 🙂

  1. The stripe is really unusual but looks really good. I must remember it for future crochet projects.

  2. Yeah, there is something special in these stripes. I guess it’s the dynamic movement? Also, the colour changes mid-stitch, so the lines are really clean.

Leave a Reply

