My Italian lover

130831bialetti

I haven’t been feeling super energetic in the past two days or so. However, there’s one thing that has boosted my energy levels through the roof: my new Italian lover, the Bialetti moka express.

I’ve yearned for an espresso pan for a while now, but never got around to getting one. My courtship with the Italian lover was a three-step process and it took some two months to fully start to bloom.

Step one: traveling in Portugal this summer, enjoying great coffee. I brought some back home with me, and simply could not waste it in the normal coffee maker (ok, I did, but just a little and only because I was desperate).

Step two: finding those small black espresso cups by Filippa K. in the picture (front). Instead of using the espresso cups, so far I’ve always gone for the bigger cups: the whopping 0,4 litres Taika-mug by Iittala (middle) and the more moderate  0,25 litres Siirtolapuutarha-mug by Marimekko (back). Why settle for less when you can have more?

Step three: bumping into the Bialetti pan in a local department store. There were pans for one cup, two cups, maybe even three and four cups – but I of course went for the six cup version. I tell myself you never know when guests arrive, and in real life, I make a full pan of coffee and enjoy it all by myself. With a little (a lot) of milk and some sugar, the dark espresso roast just makes all the difference. Yum.

♠ In the meantime: I love the imagination in this Finnish protest against Russia’s homophobic legislation.

♥ Song of the day: The Irrepressibles, New World

Leave a Reply

