Berlin in five days, part I

I have so neglected this blog for way too long. Sorry! Not to mention the countdown! I’ve been too busy to even count the weeks until we have more daylight in Finland, and in fact, I have completely forgotten there is no daylight.

Here’s the thing: I’m walking the walk, not just talking the talk! You see, one of the key things in surviving these dark October-January days is to get involved in exciting projects, and that I have done, big time.

I’m actively involved in making a new magazine for the Finnish market, Huuma. To present the magazine, I would need an entire blog post as there are so many things to say about this super exciting sweet madness of an endeavor, which is eating up all my time, thoughts and energy – in a good way. So I will have to get back to you on Huuma later on.

Instead, I’ll show you what one of my all time favorite cities, Berlin, looked like just a few days ago. I spent five wonderful days walking the streets of Berlin, enjoying the atmosphere, and hanging out in Christmas markets. I’ve mostly visited Hamburg for Christmas markets, and it was interesting to see how different the markets are from one city to another. And of course, each day started with a lovely breakfast somewhere in a café. It was luxurious.

Anyway, before I let you get into holiday mode with the photos below, here’s the countdown: can it really be that it’s only nine (9!) weeks left until mid-February? Cooool!

IMG_0842

Day 1: Breakfast in Prenzlauer Berg, a quick visit to Tausche to get a new small bag and a new cover for my old larger bag, and of course plenty of mulled wine in Alexanderplatz and the Christmas market near the old opera house by Unter den Linden.

IMG_0859

Day 2:  Random encounter with the bear in Alexanderplatz, a nice weekend market in Kollowitzplatz, more mulled wine, plenty of photographs at the Museum of Photography, and the best wall calendar for 2014 from KaDeWe. I did not expect to find a street art calendar there, but I was proven wrong. Great!

♠ In the meantime: If you can’t wait to hear more about Huuma, check out the layout designs for a few stories. We’ve shared them in e.g. Twitter, here and here.

♣ Song of the day: Marvin Gaye, Ain’t no Mountain High Enough

Leave a Reply

