The Happiness project, part II

Time seems to fly, when there’s daylight. I can’t believe it’s been almost one month since my previous post. Spring equinox is tomorrow. Already? I’ve stopped using my Wake-up light in the mornings only this week, as the day starts to dawn around 6 a.m. and I don’t need to wake up to pitch black darkness any more.

You may remember I previously listed some books I’d like to read, as I wanted to learn to change the way I do things? I’ve finally found two of them. The Happiness Project was one of the books I got my hands on, so I started with it. It’s almost like reading my own thoughts written by someone else. Crazy.

The book has been a bestseller, so I presume many others harbor similar thoughts. I can’t figure out what is more disturbing, the fact that so many seem to find life vaguely unsatisfactory or the understanding of belonging to the lucky few (globally) who actually can spend time reading books about happiness.

Even though it would be most interesting to dig deeper into this, why don’t we enjoy an easily digestible list of good things?

  • I still haven’t finished reading The Goldfinch, and I almost don’t want it to end. The book is very good. I can’t quite pinpoint what keeps me mesmerized, but the book seems to breathe on its own.
  • Rufus Wainwright entertained us last Monday in Helsinki. I’ve never heard him play live before, and I very much enjoyed the concert. Did not know that his sister Lucy Wainwright Roche would be there to share her music as well.
  • I’ve finally seen 12 years a slave. It is almost impossible to imagine one’s freedom being taken away. The film got me thinking about human trafficking. I wonder if there are good novels about it? Do you know any?
  • My next crochet project is a natural white doily rug called Asteri.
  • The fabulous Molla Mills has sent Virkkuri II to the printing-house. Click the link and you’ll see the cover! I can’t wait for the book to come out. My prediction is these Virkkuri books will rock the world. Once they are all translated to English, world domination can begin.
  • A new concept and platform for crowdfunding journalism is emerging in Finland. Rapport.fi sounds very promising and interesting. To put it simply: people can crowdfund the idea for a good story, which a journalist can then start working on once the funding is secured. The whole concept is based on good ideas, which we all love of course. How genius!

♣ In the meantime: Ever wonder what your inner Finn would be called? Try the Finngenerator.

♠ Song of the day: Rufus Wainwright, The Art Teacher

2 thoughts on “The Happiness project, part II

  1. Pingback: Plan A | Yalotar

Leave a Reply

