Climate change is real and you too can change

tulips_book

Here I am, with my white tulips and my next read, The Power of Habit. I want to find out if I can change some things in my life, and I want to understand why it seems so difficult to accomplish changes, even though I know they are good for me in the long run.

While I obsess over being a better writer, losing ten pounds, and searching my soul, some people are concerned of the welfare of our planet. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) released a new report today. It’s all over the news, and I’m almost too frightened to take a look, as I fear it’s a grim read. The changes this world needs cannot be made by anyone alone.

They say (PDF):

Observed impacts of climate change have already affected agriculture, human health, ecosystems on land and in the oceans, water supplies, and some people’s livelihoods. The striking feature of observed impacts is that they are occurring from the tropics to the poles, from small islands to large continents, and from the wealthiest countries to the poorest.

In brief: everyone is involved, everyone will be affected.

If the entire report is too daunting in its entirety, but you’re still interested in the subject, take a look at the summary for policymakers (PDF). It is some 40 pages long, but gives a good overview of the contents of the report. I particularly like they way they have made it easier for readers to better understand and put into perspective the arguments that are made. Throughout the summary, statements such as high confidence, medium evidence, very high confidence, high agreement, robust evidence, low confidence, have been added to increase credibility. I appreciate this transparency, which I hope will help tackle the issue politically.

By the way, I noticed Popular Mechanics wrote a beginner’s guide to the climate change reports which have been regularly published since 1990. Take a look, and then, take action. Tweak your diet towards more vegetarian? Keep searching your soul and learn to live more sustainably? Demand answers from politicians? Stop hiding behind the lazy argument of “nothing I do will make a difference as long as [insert culprit of your choice] keeps doing what they do”?

♠ In the meantime: A connection between Thai sweatshops and Finnish hospitals was brought to daylight by Finnwatch. We might be one of the least corrupt countries in the world, but there’s still work to be done.

♥ Song of the day: Thievery Corporation, Depth of My Soul

One thought on “Climate change is real and you too can change

  1. Pingback: World Environment Day – my video | Yalotar

Leave a Reply

